EAACI Awards 2015



Each year, EAACI honours European researchers and clinicians who have contributed significantly to the development of innovative diagnostic and therapeutic strategies for control and prevention of allergic diseases, to the understanding of their pathophysiology and to the strengthening of allergology as a specialty in Europe. The EAACI Awards 2015 will be presented during the Opening Ceremony - Saturday, 6 June at 19:00.



Luis Delgado

The Charles Blackley Award 2015 for promotion of the specialty is awarded to Professor Luis Delgado.

Professor Delgado, EAACI member 318, is Professor of Basic and Clinical Immunology and Head of the Department and Laboratory of Immunology, in the Faculty of Medicine, University of Porto, Portugal. He is a specialist in allergology and also serves as a Senior Consultant in allergology at the Allergy Department of the Centro Hospitalar São João, Porto, where he runs the immunology laboratory.

Professor Delgado has had a remarkable career. Since his doctoral thesis on lung

immunopathology presented in 1996, he has worked intensively within the research field of occupational and interstitial lung diseases, severe cutaneous drug eruptions, ocular allergy and allergy and asthma in sports practice. Within this scope, in 2001 he was the founder and chairman of the EAACI Interest Group on Allergy, Asthma and Sports. During the years immediately after, he chaired the Joint EAACI/ERS Task Force
"Asthma and Allergic disorders in Sports" as well as the EAACI/AAAAI
PRACTALL 2008: BASE initiative – "Bronchoconstriction, Allergy, Asthma in Sports and Exercise". He is co-author of three books, sixteen chapters in textbooks, and more than one hundred clinical and research papers.

Professor Delgado has contributed tremendously to the development of the specialty both on a national and international level. He served as a member of the Executive Board of the Portuguese Society of Allergy and Clinical Immunology from 1999 to 2007. Currently, he is President of the

From 2003 to 2011 he was a member of the EAACI Executive Committee. During this period, he was part of the CME Accreditation Committee and the 'EAACI certified examination in allergology and clinical immunology' Task Force. From 2009 to 2011, he was Vice-President for Education and Specialty, successfully managing, in a coordinated and innovative way, the Allergy Schools, educational outputs (Task Forces, monographs), knowledge test, and the collaborative structuring of the CME process with

Professor Delgado's encouraging attitude, friendship, endless enthusiasm and far-reaching vision in the field of science and in life in general have been an inspiring force for generations of both clinicians and researchers.



Anne Moneret-Vautrin

The Clemens von Pirquet Award 2015 for improving clinical research is awarded to Professor Anne Moneret-Vautrin.

Anne Moneret-Vautrin Professor Emeritus of Allergology at the medical faculty of the Henri Poincaré Nancy University in Lorraine, France. She is the President of the Allergy Vigilance Network and a member of the prestigious French National Academy of Medicine. She is a dedicated internist, allergist and scientist, looking deep into the immunological mechanisms causing (food) allergic reactions, and providing information and support to improve the quality of life of the allergic patient. She

has a longstanding track record in allergy research, mirrored by more than 380 papers listed in PubMed, and is a highly respected authority in France.

Professor Moneret-Vautrin is also the founder of the Allergy Vigilance Network, which indexes cases of anaphylaxis, provides data on actual prevalence of food allergies, and implements post marketing surveillance of the allergic risk of foods. This first model of an anaphylaxis registry prompted clinicians in other countries to establish similar activities. As a true European, she recently joined forces with the German anaphylaxis registry to develop a European-wide registry, providing service for healthcare specialists across Europe.

Professor Moneret-Vautrin has trained more than one generation of clinicians and is still highly active investigating hot-topics in food allergy. She is well-known for tackling up-to-date topics, such as novel foods and new food products with allergenic risks, prompting a colleague to say: "Whenever you want to investigate new questions in food allergy, check first if it hasn't already been published by Professor Moneret-Vautrin."



Marek Kowalski

The Daniel Bovet Award for improving treatment and prevention of allergic diseases is awarded to Professor Marek

Professor Marek L. Kowalski is Chair at the Department of Immunology, Rheumatology and Allergy, Faculty of Medicine and Director of the Healthy Ageing Research Center (HARC) at the Medical University in Lodz, from where he received medical and doctorate degrees. He has worked as a visiting scientist at the Department of Clinical Immunology and Allergy in London with Professor Barry Kay, and for three years (1986-1988)

was a visiting fellow at the National Institute of Health in Bethesda, with Professor Michel Kaliner. He is board certified in internal medicine, allergology and clinical immunology.

Professor Kowalski was a member of the EAACI Executive Committee (1998–2009) and EAACI Treasurer (2003–2009); in 2009, he was President of the 28th EAACI Congress held in Warsaw. He was also President of the Polish Society of Allergology (2003-2006), member of the World Allergy Organization Board of Directors (2008-2011) and Chair of the WAO Communications Council.

He was the Associate Editor of Allergy (2001-2009) and is currently the Editor-in-Chief of Alergia Astma Immunologia and serves on editorial boards for several international journals (Allergy Asthma Immunology Research, Asthma Allergy Clinical Immunology, Allergy and Asthma Proceedings, Current Allergy and Asthma Reports), and he is the coordinator of the HARC 7FP RegPot Project (2013–2016), as well as partner in four EC funded IP projects (FAST, Predicta, MedAll and iFAAM).

His major research interests include pathogenesis and management of bronchial asthma and COPD, immunology of respiratory infections, immunology of ageing, and hypersensitivity to NSAIDs. He has authored or co-authored more than 300 publications.

Professor Kowalski has been honoured with several Polish and international awards, including the Order of Polonia Restituta, International Distinguished Fellowship Award of the American College of Allergy Asthma and Immunology, honorary membership of the Lithuanian Society of Allergology and Clinical Immunology, the Purkini Medal of the Czech Society of Clinical Immunology and Allergology, and honorary membership of the Hungarian Allergy and Immunology Society.



Wytske Fokkens

The Paul Ehrlich Award 2015 for improving experimental research awarded to Professor Wytske Fokkens.

Wytske J. Fokkens is Professor and Department Chairman of the Otorhinolaryngology at the Academic Medical Center in Amsterdam. Her main field of interest is sinus surgery and mucosal pathology of the upper and lower airways. She is the current President of the European Rhinologic Society (ERS) and the International Society of Infection and Allergy of the Nose (ISIAN). She is also the Chairman of the European Position Paper on Rhinosinusitis and Nasal Polyps (EPOS).

Professor Fokkens is a member of the executive committees of ARIA and ERS, and work package and centre leader of GA2LEN, the EU network of excellence. She is the author of more than 300 papers on allergy and rhinology published in peer-reviewed journals. She has written a textbook on rhinology: Rhinology and Skull Base Surgery: From the Lab to the Operating Room - An Evidence Based Approach (Thieme). She serves as Editor-in-Chief of Rhinology and is Associate Editor of the Allergy and Clinical Respiratory Journals. She is married and has three children.